To Trap a Leprechaun

Last week, ‘lil Miss A came home with a preschool homework assignment. “Build and bring in your leprechaun trap on March 14.” This Pinterest crazy mama thought it would be the perfect craft for us to do. I had visions, and my visions had visions.

Then, I forgot about the project, and next thing I knew, it was Monday the 12th and I hadn’t “pinned” anything for the project let alone searched Google for what in the world was a Leprechaun trap. If I had been smart, I would have called upon the creative genius that is Burgh Baby (who I am sure would have jumped at the chance to help the kid out–her daughter would tell you they are creepy, and she knows from experience). But alas, I did not. I grabbed an empty paper box and told my cousin J that I needed to do this project. She googled, and laughed, told me, “oh my, are they green!”. I went home with visions of deep green and glitter. I forgot the box. I didn’t stop for supplies. I went for a run in the misty rain, and I fed the kids and husband Taco Bell for dinner. I failed, and we had one day left to do the project.

Tuesday evening, I went to the craft store (which had clearanced the St. Patrick’s Day supplies out–there was barely anything left on the shelves) and ended up grabbing some glittery gift bags, stickers, and clover garland. Something would work. A and I gathered our supplies (no scrapping tape, just some couponed packing tape and scissors), and we got to work. The trap needed a ladder (A’s demand), so I made one out of gold rope. She stuck coins to the side to tempt the ‘lil Leprechaun, and plastered on rainbows and shamrocks.

She was proud of her trap, but didn’t understand why a Leprechaun didn’t just come waltzing up our table and into the trap right away. (She’s going to have trouble when she goes hunting.) We tucked the trap beside my bag so she’d be able to take it into school and went to sleep. The next morning, she was upset that she still hadn’t caught a Leprechaun, and I had to explain to her that they only come out on Fridays (because that’s when the trap would be filled at school). She associates Friday’s with dinner at Great Great’s and is always aware of how long it is until then, so she said, “Ok, Leprechaun. You have two days.”

Friday came and went. The trap came home from school, and Mr. Burgher didn’t have an update for me about what she did (or didn’t) catch. I didn’t think to ask her about it before she left for my parents, and there is nothing in that darn trap this morning. I think we’ve been scammed, or else she’s joining the “baby” of Burgh Baby’s camp. Creepy Leprechauns anyways.

(PS, have you checked out our cute ‘lil Man as a Leprechaun? That is not creepy in the least!)

Leave a Reply

