Celebrating a Birth

It is hard to believe, but ‘lil Man is already a week into his second year of life! The past week has been full of celebrations, ending with last night’s birthday pizza party. He really had a good time opening the gifts and cards (with some help from his sister, of course). In true fashion, all of his presents make noise or are adorable outfits. Every single thing he got really was perfect for him (thank you all!). More on that later, though.

Mama and Daddy Burgher had a favorite moment of the week (and surprisingly, no, it was not our late night salmon burger candlelight dinner to celebrate the past year). My Twitter friends really are an amazing group of folks. Many of you wished ‘lil Man a Happy Birthday before he even woke up. Two of you played a huge part in his day, and I am extremely honored to have your talents be part of this day. Ok, enough already, time to share!

A fellow local blogger and mom, M of Burgh Baby has always taken amazing photographs of her daughter and has begun to test the waters of photographing other people (and their kids). I was lucky enough to snug a few hours off work to gather up the ‘lil Burghers and head to her house for a photo shoot for ‘lil Man’s big day.

But Mama Burgher wanted this shoot to be special. It needed to involve a smash cake, and I had a vision. I was willing to “sacrifice” and get a cake to from a local bakery or the grocery store and it just be average. What did it matter? It was just a cake, right? I could have made one, but honestly, I wanted the chance to highlight someone else’s work, support local business, and not take up my time making it. Frustrated with my options, I sent out a tweet to a local baker who competed on this season of Buddy (The Cake Boss)’s Next Great Baker, wishing she could make ‘lil Man’s cake. Not long after, she replied, asking for details. And she worked with me. And she delivered my vision. And she blew me away. I was jealous that ‘lil Man was going to destroy this great cake from Megs of La Dee Dah’s.

As M set up for the photo shoot, it was clear she meant business. She had the right lighting and the perfect set up for the shoot. (And M, can I just say again, thank you for letting ‘lil Man do a number on your floor…it probably still smells like icing in there!) The day was a bit dreary, but she worked with ‘lil Man, making him smile, giggle, and show his big blue eyes. We were so happy and so excited when we got the photos. Seriously, M is amazing.

Thank you all for making ‘lil Man’s day so special. The gifts, the memories, the smiles. Thank you, thank you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses to “Celebrating a Birth

  1. You didn’t tell me he was a baby model! My god is he preciously handsome!!!! I love it, and it looks like he enjoyed the cake! Those pictures are FANTASTIC!!!! Happy Birthday lil man!!!

  2. Howard & I are enjoying these precious photo’s Glad that you can share this way helps bridge the miles,
    glad you can have all the family except Nurin & she can see the photo’s this way, God Bless you all!

  3. Pingback: Eating Everything in Sight « 'lil Burghers

Leave a Reply

