Will We Last Through? #BFing

Well, I am proud to announce that today is ‘lil Man’s 11 month birthday and we have made it through with a daily feed or two. Today’s Breastfeeding Blog Hop (hosted by Life With Levi, The Slacker Mom, and Diary of a Devil Dog Wife is about Holiday Survival–what concerns are there for getting through the holidays as a #BFing mom. My biggest concern is whether or not we will last through the ‘lil Man’s 1st birthday and Christmas.

As I’ve mentioned before, we have been down to 1-2 feedings a month and no more pumping. ‘lil Man is staying with my parents for two days, and I have no plans to pump while he is away. If our time together is done…I think I am ok with that, although it sure would be nice to make it through the holidays and get our “1 Year” #MomBadge.

Sadly, I had a taste of what it would be like to not feed ‘lil Man the other day. He flat out refused to nurse. I think it’s because Mr. Burgher keeps this amazing little “Bag of Magic” in our room at night for the middle of the night feedings.


The cooler comes in handy–no running down the stairs while ‘lil Man screams. We’ve never had a problem with having to heat bottles, thank goodness!

He had ate about an hour before, so had a full tummy, but I took it as he just didn’t want anything to do with me. I went to get dressed, and I saw this hanging in my closet:

What a stinkin’ sign, huh? It jabbed me a little…I took the picture then had to shed a few tears. Luckily, ‘lil Man was more than ready for his nighttime feed when I put him to sleep.

Hopefully we’ll have good news to report in a month!

3 responses to “Will We Last Through? #BFing

  1. It is so hard when baby refuses to nurse. Baby T went through a couple of nursing strikes, and they were a really emotional time for me, because you really do feel rejected! I’ve written about them a couple of times on my blog. I’m glad your little one went on to nurse when you put him to sleep. That’s a relief. 🙂

  2. I know how emotional this can be, but I just want to say – who cares? You made it this far and you’re a total rockstar and complete inspiration in my book. And let’s face it, we know my opinion is the one that matters, lol 🙂

    I hope that if weaning does happen, you’re able to look past the bittersweet part and be really proud of yourself.

    Hoping you’ll share again next week for “I Am Thankful For”

Leave a Reply

