If I Had a Do-Over

In this week’s Breastfeeding Blog Hop prompted by Life With Levi, us Mamas are talking about what we would have done differently.

If I had a do-over with ‘lil Miss A, I don’t think I would have done anything differently. Sure, there were options I could have taken…like going non-dairy; however, I had NO clue how many other food allergies and aversions she would end up having (explaining my pregnancy weight loss and constant sickness with her). So, basically, I feel like even if I had gone non-dairy, it would not have been enough. Formula was expensive, and I wasn’t exactly ballin’, but it was the right thing to do at that time. Besides, I would not have been able to pump at work (I was a teacher with a “break” for 40 minutes a day while we had meetings or prepped for the rest of the day), and I wasn’t able to be with her enough with my commute to make it really worth it.

If I had a do-over with ‘lil Man, I think I wouldn’t be so darn hard on myself. We made it through 6 months without formula–including 8 days of me being away–and kept him gaining enough weight to make the doctors happy (‘lil Man is constantly considered “underweight” but gaining). When I started to have vertigo issues, my supply went down drastically and I beat myself up over not getting enough and having to give in to the formula. Today, we are down to 1 or 2 feedings a day (depending on how we both feel), but we’re both happy and bonded. There was nothing wrong with having to give him formula (especially since we made it almost 9 months before he was having over 50% formula a day).

If I have a chance to do it again, I am going to do it to the best of my ability and give it my all.

2 responses to “If I Had a Do-Over

  1. I lost weight during pregnancy as well, but I never thought about it correlating to a food allergy! Hmm, something to keep in mind for next time. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

