Do Unto Others

…as you would have done to you.

Recently, Mr. Burgher, our ‘lil Burghers, and I became #smhero (Social Media [super]Heroes) when we helped out with The Pittsburgh Tote Bag Project. I was charged with the challenge of taking a Tote Bag and filling it with food when I visited the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank for the #BlogMob. This was an easy task, but we knew we had to do more.

First, we decided to have a Tote Bag Drive for ‘lil Miss A’s birthday. We asked that our family and friends bring their gifts in a reusable grocery tote bag instead of worrying about wrapping them or bringing a gift bag (because I honestly have a ton to “regift” in my stockpile).

We got a few questions like, “are you sure that you just want the gift thrown in a boring brown bag”, and the answer (obviously) was “YES!”. Our peoples came through amazingly–some even brought extras–and we ended up with 20 tote bags to donate to the project. Thank you, thank you, thank you! We will definitely continue this tradition for future parties.

Here are the bags that she got—we missed the boat on getting a pic with her and the bags before we turned them in, oops!

Then, I took the challenge to my office and asked my immediate co-workers to bring in totes. We’re working on expanding it to our department (and maybe the entire corporate office), but just through a week or two, we collected 20 bags.

I still needed to fill up my #smhero (Social Media Hero) tote with food for the Food Bank, so I gathered that together. Mr. Burgher was not happy with what I came up with, and he took a handful of bags from ‘lil Miss A’s party and filled them with goodies (toothpaste, pads, body wash, razors, etc) from his couponing trips.

We set up time to do the drop off after we participated in the Heart Walk. While we were there, I kept noticing people with totes from a vendor and I hoped we’d be able to connect with them and get some of their totes to add to the 41 we had to drop off. When I approached them, I was given 12 bags; however, Mr. Burgher noticed that there were still boxes of them behind the tent. Before we left the parking lot, he ran over to ask a different person if they would consider giving an entire box of 100 bags—they said yes! All we had to do was ask.

So, we met up and dropped off 153 tote bags, some filled with food for the Project. The good feeling hasn’t worn off yet! You can check out the incredible story that was on the Tote Bag Project’s website here.

Have we inspired you yet? I sure hope so! If you have reusable canvas grocery bags (aka tote bags) and you would like to donate them to the Project, either check out their site or get in touch with me. They’ve been able to donate over 7,000 bags to those who need them, and the potential to do more is huge. If all of you donated just one bag, we could make a difference in the lives of many. When I visited the Food Bank, I saw many people carrying their food in a multitude of containers (luggage, laundry baskets, pockets) and I know we can do better. Are you with us?

3 responses to “Do Unto Others

  1. Pingback: Harvest Festival « 'lil Burghers

  2. Pingback: ‘Tis the Season « 'lil Burghers

  3. Pingback: Totes and Team Members in Action! « 'lil Burghers

Leave a Reply

