Resources for Breastfeeding

Today’s post is part of Life With Levi’s Breastfeeding Blog Hop. We’re talking about “Breastfeeding Resources” this week.

I’ve always tried to be extremely independent, so when it came to breastfeeding, I figured I would just do it the natural way. Some of my family had done it before, and I felt like it would be pretty basic. My mom was with me to guide the way with A (and tell me that I didn’t have to listen to the over-advice giving nurse who was the substitute for a lactation consultant), and aside from A’s food issues, we did ok. With E, I felt like we instantly had a groove, but I sure did welcome the hints from a truly caring nurse at Magee. This time, I had plenty of lactation resources available, but chose not to utilize them because I had the good nurse, my mom, and my mother in law. Nothing could go wrong, right?

Well, a week in of constant hunger (on E’s part–he was eating for about an hour with 30-45 minutes in between feedings) and pain (on my part), I needed help. I thought, there is no way that people on Twitter would be talking about breastfeeding. . . would I lose followers if I asked? Versus asking, I searched, and found tons of great tweeps who were very open about breastfeeding (and used hashtags like #BFing and #BFCafe). Who knew? From these new “friends”, I found the inspiration to go on and a place to turn when I needed some advice. (How great when you feel all alone at 4 AM!)

Leave a Reply

