Perfect Pesto

Sunday was a perfect day and we spent most of it out by the pool. When it came to dinner, I wanted something quick and easy. I had a huge bag of spinach in the fridge and for some reason, I wanted to eat most of it for dinner. The problem I have with spinach (in a salad, for instance) is that it has a “fuzzy” feel to it. I am a huge texture person, so that’s major for me. If I taste even the littlest bit, I throw the bag out (awful!). So before I got that far, I got an idea to try to make pesto with it.

First, I took 2 tablespoons of EVOO into a pan and added a tablespoon of chopped garlic, letting that brown up.

Next, it was time to add that glorious bag of spinach. It took almost the whole bag, and we honestly could’ve had a lot more added in!

‘Cause see? It cooked down to this.

To make it more sauce like, I added in 2 tablespoons of margarine. It seemed “stringy”, so I felt like I needed to “process” it a little more. Into the small food processor it went, plus some Romano cheese and Italian herbs.

After a few chops, it got creamy and more like sauce.

It was less than I expected, but plenty for Mr. Burgher and I to split for our pasta servings. We took it from the pan and put it on a mix of whole wheat and regular pasta.

It was quite the perfect mixture for us, and really hit the spot. Next time you crave pasta, why don’t you give this one a try?

“Perfect Pesto”

2 Tablespoons EVOO
1 Tablespoon choppped garlic
1 bag of fresh spinach
2 Tablespoons margarine
1 Tablespoon Romano (or Parmesan) cheese
1 Tablespoon Italian herbs (basil, parsley, cilantro)

Be ready to say “yum”!

Leave a Reply

