Tears

It’s Thursday, so that means it is time for the Life With Levi breastfeeding blog hop! This week’s topic is “Breastfeeding and PPD”.

I am not going to lie and tell you that being a new mom is all unicorns and rainbows. (See my post This Mommy Thing to hear about one of my toughest times.) I’ve had many days and nights when all I wanted to do was sit and cry. . .but you’d better believe that Mr. E was what would cheer me up. There have been moments when I would nurse him and let the tears stream down my cheeks for absolutely no reason at all. I can’t tell you why, I just felt like I needed to! But on the flip side, I knew that I had to buck up and do what I needed to do for my kids.

Just because I had tears doesn’t mean I have or had PPD, but I know it is a real issue for some moms. I’ve had my days where I had to just “get away”. At those moments, the best thing for me was to back up and be honest with myself. But just a few minutes later, I yearn to get cozy with ‘Lil Man and find my purpose again.

Not to sound all info-mercial on you, but seriously, if you or someone you know is suffering from PPD, feel free to lend an ear, a head, or a heart. “Baby Blues” can hit anyone, no matter how happy they might be pre-baby.

Leave a Reply

