It’s the End of the World [as we know it]

. . . and hopefully I feel fine.

Something that I don’t think we have talked about much on our blog is faith. Faith/Religion is to me one of those things that you don’t sit around and talk about politely at dinner (like politics, especially when you live in and were raised in a “house divided”). I have my beliefs, G has his, and we tend to leave it that way. I was raised the daughter of a United Methodist pastor, and while I do not hold firmly to the politics of the church organization, I do hold firmly my belief in God and affirm that Christ died to save me (and you, ::ahem::). G’s parents raised him in the Bahai Faith, a faith that encompasses the commonalities of the world’s religions, so we have many similar beliefs.

My lack of loyalty to one church is due to the fact that 1) I like to hear my dad preach and he lives decently far enough away that it’s tough getting two kids up in time on a Sunday, 2) I have seen the politics fail my dad and my family many times, leaving me shaking my head at hypocritical behaviors and 3) I prefer non-denominational fellowship such as the Covenant Church of Pittsburgh where politics don’t seem to matter. I like peace and serenity, which is perhaps why I love to listen when G says his prayers (because they do bring peace to a sometimes frantic me), and like harmony and unity (ah, one of my favorite “old” CCOP songs, is “One Accord” that reads, “Unity, between you and me…”). Anyways, I know that God is watching over me and my little family, and I’ve seen him work miracles even if we don’t understand when sometimes those miracles end up in a loss (love you, Wendy). Basically, I went on this little side-story to tell you why I like to keep my faith a personal thing, so back to the story.

There has been a lot of talk (rumors?) that today is the Day of Judgement, the beginning of the end. Today is supposedly the day that those who will be raptured will leave this earth, leaving those who are left to be burdened with all of the end of days horror until around October when the “real” end is here.

Personally, I have two feelings about this end of times.

One, if it is the end and you are still reading this on May 22, know that we’ve gone on to our eternal home. Yesterday, I checked with my Dad, babies do not have to have accepted Jesus to be raptured, so don’t expect them to be tweeting and posting pics once we’re gone, ok? Plus, they are both baptized, double win. Know that I (hope) that I will get to introduce my babies and G to my grandfathers, uncle, Wendy, and other dear friends. I will be living in a mansion that’s painted purple and white with diamonds in the floors (what up, Chatham?), and will take walks with Sandy, Noel, and Buddy on streets of gold. If you hear lots of thunder, it’s cause we are bowling lots. Oh, and there’s a nice warm sandy beach along an ocean in my Heaven, so I will finally stop looking like I am on the cast of Twilight. Yo.

Two, it is not Judgement Day. I do not believe enough things are in place for it to be so. I remember reading Revelations (oh, how that book of the Bible was such a “secret” growing up–the adults and Sunday School booklets never wanted us to talk about it–but I read it because I was a rebel like that). I don’t remember a date. Earlier in the New Testament it says that we will not know the day or the hour that God will come to take us to eternal life. So, that means no one, not even Harold Camping, knows when it will happen. Period. End of discussion.

It’s hard to take something seriously when there’s so much hype about it and I know my biblical upbringing does not support this “knowing” of the timing. Either way, if it happens, it happens. Just means I won’t have to pay the mortgage next week and looters will have a good time in our stockpile (cause we won’t need it). If it doesn’t happen, I plan on keeping on. It will happen someday, and we’ll see how it all shakes out. Frankly, as a Believer, I do feel like if it happens, it will be a glorious day for me. But anyways.

In watching media prepare for coverage of today’s events, I did come across some articles about the belief that both G and I’s faiths have on this “end of times” if you’d like reference to what we believe will happen. You can find the United Methodist Church’s perspective here and the Bahai perspective here. Perhaps you are interested in either of these. I know there are a lot of skeptics out there, but I do believe our faith has got us through (and will continue to get us through) some tough times. If you feel so inclined to talk to either of us about this, let us know!

PS…it’s a beautiful, sunny day here in Pittsburgh. After 39 of the last 40 days being rainy, it only makes sense that the Judgement Day would be today. *winks*

Leave a Reply

