Wendy

Today was is my best friend Wendy’s 28th birthday. While there is not a single day that I wish she was still here, today is one of the hardest. Every year the pain is a little different,  but this year, I have vowed to celebrate.

Wendy would want us to celebrate.

While cancer may have taken my friend’s body away, it did not take her spirit.  Today, I will not let the c word win. I will celebrate.

There are years worth of stories for me to tell you, so for this year, I want to tell you our first.  I tell you this story because it is appropriate for my current concerns–a lesson.

God always has a plan and a reason.

When I was 15, my dad (a umc pastor) was told we were moving. I was devastated. They went away for the interview and it took what felt like forever. Finally, my parents came home, the happiest I had seen them in a long time. We were moving back to Brookville, where my dad began the ministry and I had gone to k-2nd grade.

There was more that made them happy. I already had a friend.

Being a pk, I had little trust and made a handful of friends, few close, every move. Why get close when 4 years later I would be gone? I hated moves because I had to start over. There I was, about to start Sr High with no friends.

But, I was wrong. Remember the lesson, God has a reason? I FIRMLY believe the reason we moved back was that Wendy needed us, and we needed Wendy.

See, Wendy’s grandma went to the church he was being placed at. When Wendy heard my last name, she remembered we had been friends way back in first grade at Pine Creek. What? How could someone I knew for a year remember ME? She did.

This first memory is my favorite. I didn’t really remember this angel, but she remembered me. She saved me from pain of a move, and gave me hope. We hadn’t even met again face to face, but I knew I had found a forever friend.

Today, my angel is still with me. She watches from above and gives me hope that God always does things for a reason. We must all remember that.

Wendy, she has always been faithful and true. The best a girl could ask for. Today, on her 28th birthday, I continue to pray for a cure, but I always pray we can all spread a little Wendy around our world.

Happy Birthday, Wendy!

One response to “Wendy

  1. Pingback: Why She Will Always Live On « 'lil Burghers

Leave a Reply

