5 responses to “Getting Closer

  1. Congratulations on recognizing what needed to be changed and then acting on it – that’s a really hard first step! It sounds like you two (or four, rather) are off and running in the right direction; you should be really proud of yourself!
    I live for sorting out my finances and paying my bills – both literally, as in I need to work 2 jobs to stay afloat, and figuratively, as in I really love working out the logistics. I create a monthly budget in an Excel sheet with formulas and expected vs reality earnings. I update it at least once a week to get a good overview of how much I’m spending on which categories (bills, car, loans, food, misc, savings) and to make sure all of my bills are being paid on time.
    Working with my spreadsheet budget has allowed me to move from desperately needing my 2nd job for expenses to saving all my 2nd job pay AND saving some of my regular full-time pay. It’s incredible to keep really close tabs on what you’re spending and then make decisions on what you can cut out – it’s helped more than I can even describe here.
    Let me know if you want me to send you the prototype to the spreadsheet, and keep up the awesome work! :)

  2. Pingback: If I Had a Do-Over « 'lil Burghers

  3. Pingback: Traveling with Money « 'lil Burghers

  4. Pingback: The Rainbows and Clouds: A Look Back at 2011 « 'lil Burghers

  5. Pingback: Happy Now? « 'lil Burghers

Leave a Reply

